Long Eaton Victoria Angling Society

Established in 1880


139TH AGM 18 March 2019

Friday, 22 March 2019 17:27




On Monday 18 March 2019, LEVAS held their 139th Annual General Meeting at the Soldiers & Sailors Club.


The best attendance for some years heard brief reports from officers that highlighted another successful year for England’s second oldest angling club, before moving on to the election of officers for the coming year. David Kent said he would stand for election for one more year but expected to relinquish at least two (if not all three) of his posts (should he be re-elected) at the end of the coming year.


Officers elected are:

President: John Adams

General Secretary: David Kent

Treasurer: David Kent

Match Secretary: David Kent

Membership Secretary: Paul Richardson

Water Bookings Secretary: Mick Lager

Website & Publicity Officer: John Adamson

Auditor: Dave Harris

Head Bailiff: Jim Rudkin

Junior Secretary: Unfilled – Volunteer interested in running junior events still required

Trustees: John Adams, Dave Kent, Mick Lager, Jim Rudkin

General Committee: Above officers plus Tony Hopkin; Mick Farrell; Elli Godsi; Richard Lyon; Tim Taylor; Rob Pembridge; Nev Heywood; Paul Huthwaite.


The Bailiff Team to commence the year is:

Head Bailiff – Jim Rudkin

River Trent Long Eaton: Elli Godsi; Pat Farmer; David Platt

River Trent Colwick: Mick Farrell; Phil Slade; Paul Huthwaite

Canals: Jim Rudkin; Pat Farmer; Louis Hastings

Grange Pond: Tony Hopkin; Richard Lyon; Tim Taylor; Paul Wheeldon; Paul Benson; Matt Gaetto

Fletchers Pond: Paul Benson possibly – volunteers still required.

Roving Bailiff: John James.


The only two submissions on the agenda, both from the committee, were passed. These are:



2019-2020 No Change


Full Adult - £30

Concessionary - £20

Junior (12-17 years) - £10

Junior (under 12) – Free (must be accompanied by an adult)


BAILIFFS PAYMENTS: All bailiff’s will continue to receive a free Membership, but in addition each bailiff will be entitled to receive an ex gratia payment of £20 on completing a full membership year.